Leopold Conservation Award 2018 Call for Applications

If you, or someone you know, is a Kentucky landowner who is committed to land management practices that increase conservation, the Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts invites your application for the Leopold Conservation Award.

Sand County Foundation, the Kentucky Agricultural Council and KACD are accepting applications for the 2018 Leopold Conservation Award program in Kentucky. The $10,000 award honors Kentucky farmers, ranchers and other private landowners who voluntarily demonstrate outstanding stewardship and management of natural resources.

Given in honor of renowned conservationist Aldo Leopold, the Leopold Conservation Award recognizes extraordinary achievement in voluntary conservation. It inspires other landowners through these examples and provides a visible forum where farmers, ranchers and other private landowners are recognized as conservation leaders. The Leopold Conservation Award Program is offered in the following states: California, Colorado, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Application deadline for the 2018 award is spring 2018. See the 2018 Leopold brochure (2017 winner) (v.3) for information on applying or on candidate nomination.

Mail all materials to:

Leopold Conservation Award

c/o Franklin County Conservation District

103 Lakeview Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601


To submit materials electronically, email materials to:

Steve Coleman, colemansteve51@gmail.com, 502-330-5044

The award will be presented at the Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts annual convention in July 2018.

KWOA member Charles Williams, Hart County tree farmer, was the 2015 recipient. The 2017 Kentucky winner is Harry (KWOA board member) and Karen Pelle’s Tallow Creek Farm in Taylor County. The Pelle’s timber stand improvements have enhanced their forest crop, wildlife habitat and growth of forest floor vegetation. Their forest generates addition income through the sale of carbon credits to help sustain their conservation practice.

KWOA is a sponsor of the KLC award.